© 2013-2018 by Liliana Shelbrook.

Amazon Reviews

 

 

 

5.0 of 5 stars Lantern in the Mist: Volume One, January 30, 2015

By Amazon Customer  Verified Purchase

 

"This was a special story about people going to the Gold fields of Alaska and about the many losses and hardships they endured while there. After all the losses that they were facing the best way for Kathleen and her disabled sister tried to get back to family in New York. The cold weather, starving for food with no way to purchase it. A special man who was working on a story tried to help the young orphaned ladies on their journey. A great book to read and enjoy historical romance kindle. A wonderfully written story."

 
5.0 OUT OF 5 STARS WOW, MARCH 7, 2014

By Gin Amazon Verified Purchase
 

"OMG how much better could a book get............. I just couldn’t put it down, went on to search more from author."

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, February 3, 2014

By V. Robertson “bookworm addict” (Tampa, FL) Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"I loved this book. It was well written and the characters well developed. Can’t wait to read the next book".

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!, January 14, 2014

By Ana Herrera Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. I could not stop reading it. Can not wait to read the sequel!"

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, January 14, 2014
By Bethk Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"Was not as sure of this book when I got it but could not put it down absolutely great can not wait for book two."

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A sad but beautiful story., January 11, 2014

By js33 “Joyce” (New Jersey)  Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"How lucky we are that we are here in the now. It was a great read, I couldn’t stop once I started. The character development was terrific. I went with the flow of the story, I thought the beggar might be her father. It was certainly not predictable. Good job ! I certainly recommend it to all serious readers."

 

5.0 out of 5 stars  A real winner!, November 30, 2013

By Bones  Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"What a wonderful story! Kathleen is such a complex character that she kept me cheering for her through all her many ups and downs."

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Lantern in the Mist, November 29, 2013

By  Joan C. Vance Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"I just finished “Lantern in the Mist” and loved it. Can’t wait for volume two.Kathleen is a real tough cookie.What she goes through while caring for her disabled sister is amazing. Sam is so patient and understanding.I am ready to see what happens next. Don’t make us wait too long Liliana. Thanks"

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Lantern in the Mist, November 13, 2013
By  Willie Fetchit  Amazon Verified Purchase 

 

“This is a story of a young lady caught in the Alaska gold rush. She has to grow up in a hurry and learn not to be so open or trusting of people. But as you will discover when you read this story, the pendulum swings too far and she has a hard time accepting help from someone who only wants to help with no strings attached. Life is a struggle as she works her way back to New York caring for her crippled sister all the way. A great read.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written!, November 8, 2013
By  T. Lindsey Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“What a delightful book! It captures the despair of women held down but not broken, those who lived in the days of the Gold Rush. It’s sad how similar life is for the vast majority of women in today’s world! Well written and interesting characters, if you have a heart, this book will move it!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Historical Epic!, November 4, 2013
By Faye Jackson Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“Love it when the authors words can make you feel you are there. Kathleen’s story was so heart touching with all the obsticals she endured. Hard to believe women were treated so badly . Can’t wait to see how things work out for her and Sam.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars lantern in the mist, October 29, 2013
By Patricia Wellman (Wyoming) Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“This is a well written story of the struggles of women more than a century ago.i like happy endings. I enjoyed the book.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, September 29, 2013
By Sabrina Johnson Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“Could not put it down! This story just pulls you in and makes you feel like you’re there experiencing the hardship and challenges the main character goes through. Read it!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of Lantern in the Mist, September 25, 2013
By  Jadeshand “Book Fan” (Texas) Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“I really enjoyed this book. How­ever, I was a bit dis­ap­pointed there was a sequel. I wish peo­ple would get off this trend of trilo­gies. Patience isn’t one of my strong points. Lanterns in the Mist is a well written historical west­ern. This genre can be a chancy one to read. So much of it is cheesy little short stories of fifty pages of total fluff and non­sense that authors want you to pay $3.00 for that it’s irri­tat­ing to the extreme. They give the whole genre a bad name. So when a good his­tor­i­cal west­ern comes along, its a real treat. Ms. Shelbrook obviously did a fair amount of research, as the book took us from the gold fields of Alaska, the des­per­ate min­ers and the human preda­tors who preyed upon them all the way across the coun­try to New York. Her main char­ac­ter, Kath­leen, was a mar­vel. Gen­tle and kind, her spirit took blow after blow from a world who considered women as less than noth­ing. No rights and finally real­iz­ing there could be no expec­ta­tions, she fought to get her­self and her par­a­lyzed sis­ter across the coun­try to rel­a­tives in New York. Some of the things that hap­pened to her and some of the sac­ri­fices she had to make are hard to take. There were some minor for­mat­ting issues, but noth­ing too dis­tract­ing and it ends on a cliffhanger, so beware. It’s a good book, worth the money and the time. I think you’ll be happy you read it.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ADDICTIVE AND EXTRAORDINARY!!!!, September 15, 2013
By Passion, Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“THIS BOOK IS EXTRAORDINARY AND WRITTEN PERFECTLY WELL. I COULDN’T STOP READING UNTIL I FINISHED THE LAST PAGE. IT IS SO GRIPPING AND INTERESTING. OMG! THE STORY IS AMAZING AND SO INTENSE. CAN’T WAIT FOR VOLUME 2. I WILL RECOMMEND IT FOR ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND FOR ANYBODY WHO LOVES READING GREAT BOOKS. SO GLAD I BOUGHT IT CAUSE I ENJOYED IT ALL!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!!!, August 31, 2013
By Colorado, Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“Wonderful book! I was given this ebook for free and was so caught up in it that it was hard to put down. I can hardly wait until the next book comes out. What a strong young woman!!!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Book,very Good. A must read, August 6, 2013
By Christina Rackard Ama­zon Verified Purchase

 

“Kathleen came a long ways and all the time she was learning.It was a won­der­ful story and so wish there would be another, at least let us know how she fared. Did Sam and her get married//what hap­pened LOL see need a book 2//MUST READ.I read whole book in less than a day, and finished with tears, but good tears…”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, March 29, 2013
By Valerie Starr, (Center Barnstead, NH United States) Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“I sacrificed sleep on work nights to read this book. It pulled me in and didn’t release me until the end.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A strong woman, March 2, 2013
By marglyn (Ireland)

 

“A complimentary copy of this book was sent for me to review on my kindle. Gold rush in Alaska, a fam­ily of four, mother, father, daugh­ter and a par­al­ized daugh­ter are involved in this story. This is a raw and dangerous time to live through, everyone wants Gold! First the father dies in an avalanche, then the mother is acci­den­tally shot and dies. So Kath­leen is left to look after her older sis­ter Josie. Kath­leen is deter­mined to get them to New York where some of her father’s fam­ily lives. As we fol­low Kathleen’s adven­tures we find out what a brave feisty woman she is. Sam becomes involved in her adven­tures some of which are pretty bad, as he weaves in and out of her life unknown to her at first. A frag­ile love story develops although Kath­leen mis­trusts every­one, will it last?. Can Kath­leen and Josie make it to New York thou­sands of miles away? This is a fas­ci­nat­ing and well written story with an excel­lent plot, lots of strong char­ac­ters. Kath­leen stands out as a strong woman of her time. I could not stop read­ing this book, I highly recommend it.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars great read, February 27, 2013
By CentralEast2

 

“I really enjoyed the story of Kath­leen and her sis­ter Josie and their jour­ney from Alaska to New York. Josie is par­a­lyzed and Kath­leen will do any­thing to make sure that she does not have to be put into an insti­tu­tion. While in Alaska and on her jour­ney East, Kath­leen had to do some things that she never is at peace with, but one good thing does come out of her jour­ney and that is meet­ing with Sam. Sam is a jour­nal­ist who was in Alaska and then meets up and trav­els with Kath­leen and Josie. He helps them with the jour­ney and with help­ing peo­ple to become more accept­ing of them. I enjoyed read­ing this book and will look for­ward to the next book in the series. I received this book free for review.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars True love, Febru­ary 19, 2013
By ckeck Ama­zon Verified Purchase

 

“I loved this book! It shows the true mean­ing of love between sis­ters when times were the hard­est for women , I can­not imag­ine with all the rights and ben­e­fits we have today , liv­ing in those times,! When it was hard to make a liv­ing ‘would love to see some of those women view life of women today, like my grand­mother, she would tell of things when she was younger that was like it in this book A MUST TO READ!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating journey, February 17, 2013
By FM, Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“A great read! The pace is excel­lent, and there’s always some­thing inter­est­ing happening. The imagery is vivid, movie-like, and being a period piece adds a really spe­cial ingre­di­ent to it. But most of all, I loved the way the writer took time to develop the char­ac­ters. We come to under­stand and like them through their strug­gles, mis­takes and tri­umphs. I am definitely looking forward to the rest of the books in the series!”

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, November 1, 2014

By Marian Librarian,  Verified Purchase

 
LANTERN IN THE MIST WAS A GOOD STORY OF KATHLEEN’ S EXPERIENCES FOLLOWING HER FATHER’S DEATH. BECAUSE THE STORY TAKES PLACE IN ANOTHER ERA, IT IS FASCINATING TO READ OF HER DAILY LIFE.”

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen’ s Journey, October 30, 2013

By shirley s perry Amazon Verified Purchase

 

Laughter and tears keeps the reader spellbound through out the book. Looking forward to reading part two of Kathleen’ s story.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, October 29, 2013
By Bonnie Bennett Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“We have been to Skagway and I could visualize the setting and history of this book. I can hardly wait for the second book.”

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Who needs sleep? August 14, 2013
By Carol, Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"Even though the beginning chap­ters described one hardship after another I didn’t want to put it down. Tried to figure out why I kept reading and realized it was something about the prose. The hero is more amazing than many humans can be but isn’t the swoon factor part of why we read romances? Stayed up too late reading this. Have fun — a good ride."

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Will tug at your heartstrings, March 19, 2013
By Lynn Lovegreen Amazon Verified Purchase

 

"This book will make you care for the main char­ac­ter from page one. It’s got romance, his­tory, a strong female char­ac­ter and a per­fect hero. It needs a lit­tle edit­ing but it’s not enough to keep you from read­ing. You’ll want to root for Kath­leen and her sis­ter right up to the end. (Warn­ing: not G-rated)"

Note from Liliana Shelbrook: All minor editing typos have been corrected.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Lantern in the mist, February 27, 2013
By Maguí, Amazon Verified Purchase

 

“Really enjoyed this book. It was hard to put it down and I can’t wait for the next book. Very well done!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 starsLife is just a delicate balance between dreams and realityByBecky Jon March 13, 2016
By Becky Jon March 13, 2016

 

"Beautifully written! Great character development.A story of a young woman who goes from being completely innocent, to having to deal with the darkest sides of life as she travels from Alaska to New York with her disabled sister in 1899, and the people she meets along the way.- "Books can alter one's whole life. Involve you in a way that sometimes one can't tell reality from fantasy."- "It happens when you grow up too alone," she said almost inaudibly.-"I know. Fantasy becomes life, and the real world, a fantasy."-"And it breaks your heart when you find out the truth."-"Yes... That's easy to happen, books bring life to you."-"Life is just a delicate balance between dreams and reality, Kathleen."